

### WA Business Association Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 10th 2017 Minneapolis Institute of Art - 2201 Blaisdell Ave 3:30 - 5:00 p.m.

Attendees:	Andrew Norick	Logica Law Firm
	Ari Giles	Hennepin History Museum
	Cedar Phillips	Hennepin History Museum
	Paul Jablonsky	Nicollet Car Wash
	Hassan Warsame	BP
	Martha Nemesi	Learning in Style
	Osman Abo	Banadir Fashion
	Fadumo Abdinur	Tasho Community
	Jamila Wehlie	Tasho Community
	Deb Girdwood	Children's Theatre
	Monique Bourgeois	Nuway
	Denise McAlpin	Nuway
	Michael Malone	Whittier/Tasho
	Laurie	Brave New Media
	Rosie	Brave New Media
	Irene	Brave New Media
	Christine Le	Lake Wine
	Araceli Perez	Marissas Bakery
	Geri Jerez	Calvary Baptist
	Krista Pearson	Minneapolis Institute of Art
	Osman Dagane	

WA Staff: Ricardo McCurley, Marcus VanderSanden Guest Speaker:

## Introductions/Call to Order - Ricardo McCurley

Meeting begins at 2:00pm. Introductions are conducted and the meeting agenda and March meeting minutes are **approved**.

Spotlight on Business - Minneapolis Institute of Art (Good Grocer)- Kurt

35W closure and Associated Traffic Discussion

.

## Election: Business Association Chair & Business Appointees to Whittier Board of Directors

One vote per business established (several businesses with multiple attendees)

One vacancy for one two-year at Large Board Seat -if eligible speak to Ricardo will figure that out first board meeting April 27th

Potentially another at Large seat opening up in the near future.

What are duties of BA chair and how much time?

BA Chair- runs BA meetings, staff finds topics and agenda while chair orchestrates meeting. 1-2 hours of BA specific communication can be expected. Chair also comes with seat on Whittier Board which includes 2 hour monthly meeting plus 3-4 hours of communication increasing time commitment to at least 10 hours a month.

Commitment always more than you expect, is what you put into it

Required new board member orientation, as well as other trainings

Board will be focused on Strategic Plan, Eat Street Event, Oral History Project amongst other things

Chair anyone eligible

For-profit business gets one representative

Floor Open to nominations:

- Andrew Nordick nominates himself for board chair
- Osman (?) nominates Michael
- Michael turns down nomination, nominates Fadumo for non-profit seat
- Martha N. nominates herself for board chair
- Nominations for chair closed put to vote
- Christina nominated for for-profit seat
- Christina nominates Araceli for for-profit seat
- Only two nominations no vote necessary
- Deb nominates herself for non-profit seat
- Fadumo nominates herself for non-profit seat
- Michael nominates Geri
- Paul wonders if BA could "lobby" for Deb to be part of the board to increase representation
- Arisella nominates Martha for non-profit seat
- Nominations closed, put to vote Martha and Geri win seats
- Paul makes motion to support Deb to member at large board position, unanimous support

# Outcomes

- Andrew Nordick elected BA Board Chair
- Christina Le and Araceli Perez elected to For-profit seats
- Geri Jerez and Martha Nemesi elected to Non-profit seats
- BA would like to recommend Deb Girdwood for at-large seat on Whittier Alliance board

# **Business Growth Task Force**

Marcus has been working with Andrew to aggregate resources for businesses within Whittier. Initial focus has been to aggregate resources from across different fields, government, non-profit or otherwise to reduce burden or stress of initial resource finding for business which will take form of a resource page on Whittier website. Will have to be cognizant of Whittier organizational capacity and expertise to avoid being overwhelmed or providing services not within organizational scope. Goal would be to provide a proven resource page on Whittier website that entrepreneurs and businesses could use as a starting point to making own decisions. Next step is to survey Whittier businesses to enhance and cater resources on web page. Marcus will be working closely with Andrew as this project moves forward.

Meeting adjourns at 5:04p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Marcus VanderSanden.